Midweek Musings

Another one of those old songs that conjures up fond memories of childhood, including summers in Ocean City, New Jersey.

Last night’s call with the team was productive and exciting. I am beginning to see our book on the fundamentals of liberty taking shape, and have learned so much from the wonderful essays submitted. Although history had always been one of my favorite subjects in school, as I recall, my teachers tended to emphasize the memorization of dates over all else. Obviously, it is of great importance to know when significant events took place. But in addition to knowing who, what, where and when, it would’ve been nice to get a fuller, more enthusiastic appreciation of why and how.

While I don’t remember any anti-American bias seeping through in classroom lectures (e.g. no one ever told me as an impressionable youth that the Founding Fathers were all a bunch of racists), I can’t exactly say that my teachers, for all of their excellent instruction, adequately impressed upon me the miraculous nature of the founding of the United States of America. That in the history of the world, there has never been a country quite like this one. That, up until the day Thomas Jefferson penned the Declaration of Independence, governments were about oppressing the ordinary, everyday individual, not recognizing his/her God-given right to “life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness”.

Fortunately, as I mentioned in my Independence Day post, I had parents who believed in bringing history to life via countless visits to downtown Philadelphia and other historic places, but also on a personal level, by reminding my siblings and me often as to why our great-grandparents and grandparents left everything they knew to come here.

Even so, reading the submissions from my writing team has provided an opportunity to learn even more about this land of opportunity, and the men and women who helped create it. Our biggest challenge is remaining within a 500-word count — no easy feat, especially when writing about such accomplished human beings as Washington, Jefferson, Lee, Madison and Adams. But our goal here is to entertain, instruct and ultimately inspire others to want to learn more via their own research. If we can whet our readers’ appetites for more information and contribute in some way to the “re-education” of America, we can play a part in turning this ship around. As an added bonus, focusing on this worthy project is one of things helping me to maintain my sanity.

In the Freedom’s Wings chat room last night, I made a few folks chuckle when I noted that for a few hours yesterday, I was so engrossed in my work, I’d forgotten all about Barack Obama — and it was like being on vacation. And since part of my responsibilities today will include doing some marketing for a friend’s deli and catering business, I should be able to tune him out rather easily. Additionally, tonight is my weekly prayer/church night with a close friend, another patriot with whom — among other things — I pray for the success of the 2010 midterm elections, the effectiveness of the conservative revival now taking place nationwide, and the safety of our men and women in uniform.

Much like the Founders, for those of us who believe, it is time to turn back to God and ask for His guidance, wisdom and strength to continue the fight and to ultimately prevail in the name of freedom once again.

Have a great Wednesday!


Leave a comment

Filed under Lifestyle, Politics, Pop Culture, Professional Experience, Talk Radio, Water Signs: A Story of Love and Renewal

Leave a Reply

